Geological Map of the NT

Coordinate system: 4269 - "NAD83"


Geological map of the Northern TerritoryThis map supplants the outdated 1:2.5 million map, published in 1976 and based on BMR first-generation 1:250k maps. A feature of the new map is the division of the Proterozoic into ten regionally identifiable and generally unconformable-bounded packages (P1-P10). Except for P10, which relates to Neoproterozoic, other packages do not correspond to the chrono-stratigraphic subdivisions recommended by the Subcommission on Precambrian Stratigraphy and these subdivisions are not used on the map. A convenient chronometric scale is used to define the boundaries of these packages. The Phanerozoic is subdivided according to the conventional geological time scale