Public Health Units (PHU)

Coordinate system: 4269 - "NAD83"


This data set contains the boundaries for Public Health Units (PHU) in Ontario.

A Public Health Unit is an official health agency established by a group of urban and rural municipalities to provide a more efficient community health program. There are 36 Public Health Units in Ontario.

Health units administer health promotion and disease prevention programs to inform the public about healthy life-styles, communicable disease control including education in STDs/AIDS, immunization, food premises inspection, healthy growth and development including parenting education, health education for all age groups and selected screening services. PHUs and Local Health Integration Networks (LHINs) represent administrative Health Regions in Ontario.