Ontario Mining Division Boundaries

Coordinate system: 4269 - "NAD83"


This data set is a polygon coverage that can be used to identify the location of mining division boundaries, which were set up to outline the geographic area that a Mining Recorder would be responsible for. Mining Recorders administer the staking and filing of Mining Claims within Ontario. The number of divisions has varied over the years. There are currently 9 divisions. Up until the 90s there were Mining Recorder's offices in most or all of the 9 divisions. This changed in 1997 when the Provincial Recording Office opened in Sudbury and the offices in the other 8 divisions were closed.

The Provincial Recording Office currently has 3 Provincial Mining Recorders, each one is assigned three divisions. This is mainly just for administrative purposes to allow each of the 3 teams to be responsible for any assigned work within their Divisions. A Provincial Mining Recorder can make decisions affecting mining claims/lands anywhere in the province.

There are currently 9 divisions:

  • Red Lake
  • Kenora
  • Patricia (Sioux Lookout)
  • Thunder Bay
  • Sault Ste Marie
  • Porcupine
  • Larder Lake
  • Sudbury
  • Southern Ontario
  • Additional Documentation