Conservation Authority Administration Area

Coordinate system: 4269 - "NAD83"


Conservation Authority Administrative Areas are lands under the jurisdiction of a Conservation Authority.

A total of 31 Conservation Authorities operate in southern Ontario and an additional five Conservation Authorities deliver programs and services in northern Ontario. Conservation Authorities, created in 1946 by an Act of the Provincial Legislature, are mandated to ensure the conservation, restoration and responsible management of Ontario's water (watersheds), land and natural habitats through programs. This layer is part of what was known as the OMNR Fundamental Dataset.

Additional Documentation